Ronald Stewart, MD (5/23/23)

Recipient of an ICS Honorary Fellowship

Professor Ronald M. Stewart, MDChair of the Department of Surgery at UT Health San Antonio, Trauma Surgeon and Recipient of the Dr. Andre Crotti Award for Distinguished Service to the Profession of Surgery


Presenting The Dr. Andre Crotti Lecture
Firearm Injury Prevention: Strategies, Recommendations and Opportunities

Dr. Ronald M. Stewart graduated from medical school and completed his surgical residency at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Following this he completed a Trauma and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis. 

He returned to San Antonio in 1993 as the Director of the Trauma Service. Dr. Stewart has served as the Board Chair of the Southwest Texas Regional Advisory Council for Trauma since 1996. In 1999 he was awarded the Faculty Member of the Year Award from The University Health System. That same year he and the Shattered Dreams development team were awarded the Bronze Quill for writings on the award winning injury prevention program Shattered Dreams/D.E.A.D. (Drinking and Driving End All Dreams). 

In May 2000, Governor George W. Bush appointed Dr. Stewart to the Governor’s Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Advisory Council where he served until 2014. He was the chair of the South Texas Chapter of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Committee on Trauma for six years, and followed for another six years as the ACS COT Region VI Chief (Texas, New Mexico, Louisiana and Arkansas). He currently serves as the Chair of the ACS Committee on Trauma. Dr. Stewart was a founding member and the first Chair of the National Trauma Institute. 

At the UT Health Science Center in San Antonio he is a tenured Professor of Surgery and Anesthesia, and since 2008, he has served as the Chair of the Department of Surgery, holding the Dr. Witten B. Russ Chair in Surgery. Dr. Stewart has received numerous awards for teaching and service. A partial listing of these includes the Presidential Award for Clinical Excellence (2004), the Distinguished Alumnus of the UTHSCSA School of Medicine (2005) and the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award (2007). 

In 2013 he was the recipient of the National Safety Council Surgeons Award for Service to Safety and the American College of Surgeon's Arthur Ellenberger Award for Excellence in State Advocacy. 

He is a member of the American Surgical Association, the Southern Surgical Association, the Western Surgical Association, Immediate Past President of the Southwestern Surgical Congress and the Secretary of the Texas Surgical Society.

1524 N. Lake Shore Drive | Chicago IL 60610 | 312.787.6274
Legal | Privacy | Copyright | GDPR
2024 United States Section of the International College of Surgeons
All Rights Reserved.